Home > books > A Left-hand Turn Around the World

A Left-hand Turn Around the World

I did not enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. I am a left-hander. I did find many of the author’s personal insights  resonated with my own experience. However, I did not enjoy the writing style.  The author does bring up the complexity of the rational and scientific exploration of chirality and laterality. He expresses this through his journey around the world interviewing scientists from different disciplines for their viewpoints. I unfortunately found the path to this insights excessively distracted by descriptions of the personal parts of the journey that had no relevance. There were whole chapters that explored religions based on left handedness, palmistry and graphology. I understand the author’s intent but it diminished the clarity of the writing and my enjoyment.

I do share many of the experiences and perspectives of the author about being left handed and growing up in a right-handed world. I did learn a lot of new information from the book. It was, however, more an effort than a pleasure to read from my viewpoint.

 

Note:  Amazon has changed its image formats. I have extracted the thumbnail of book cover (hence reduced resolution) as I do not wish to waste storage on what should be harmless images. In future, I may upload my own images.

 

Categories: books
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

