Home > Mathematica > A matter of shape

A matter of shape

I have been using  Mathematica to extract information from ESRI shapefiles (shp).

An example is shown below. A dataset was used to color postcode districts. The tooltips in HTML are not as flexible as Mathematica (based on rectangle). The segmentation (polygons) are based on postcodes. The names in the tooltips are based on postal distribution centre. The source of the shapefile was the Australian Bureau of Statistics (freely available).

Categories: Mathematica
  1. May 25, 2012 at 11:39 pm
  2. Zaeem Burq
    July 25, 2012 at 1:53 am

    Wonderful! I’m trying to do exactly the same thing. Any possibility of providing the notebook? It’d be a great help to get me started. Many thanks!

    • July 25, 2012 at 11:06 pm

      Thank you for your kind comment Zaeem. I have had some data loss issues. If this is a recovered file I could email you.I am sure there is more efficient code than mine. If there are better ways or I have made a conceptual or other error let me know.

      Unknown Blogger

  3. Zaeem Burq
    July 25, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    Many thanks. Could you please remove the message with my email address? That’s not public.

    • July 25, 2012 at 11:48 pm

      My apologies…very few people visit my site and in the time frame I hope no breech of anonymity occurred. I appreciate anonymity and am sorry for not respecting yours (note: I removed your email address approx 10 minutes after your post timestamp).

  4. July 25, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    My apologies…very few people visit my site and in the time frame I hope no breech of anonymity occurred. I appreciate anonymity and am sorry for not respecting yours

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

